Momtrepreneurship

Kristina is a stay-at-home mom of two, Nicholas, 4 and Abigail, 2.  She is embarking on the terrifying yet exciting journey of entrepreneurship.  Hopefully she will find her Momtopia along the way…  


 
For as long as I can remember, I have always wanted to own a business.  To be my own boss and make my own hours sounds like something I could get used to.  While my dream was to always open my own restaurant, I hadn’t really taken into consideration what would happen when I married and had children.  Dream dead, right??  Not necessarily…
 
Since the kids are growing up (sniff), I have been finding myself asking that all to important question, “What am I going to do for the rest of my life?”.  I know I  don’t want to have a job just to have a job.  Our family has gotten used to the money that we do have, so it’s not something that needs to happen right away.  I want to own a business!! 
 
Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another: “What! You, too? Thought I was the only one.” ~ C.S. Lewis
 
Nicholas’ friends mom and I had finally gotten together after a long winter of sickness’, both at her house and ours.  We were discussing “What we were going to do for the rest of our lives”, when low and behold…both of us want to open a business.  WOW!  What are the odds.   
 
Here I sit, three weeks later and we are in the beginning stages of our online business.  We both realize that this is going to happen overnight and that we are two mom’s with young families.  It’s going to take time, good planning and even greater patience to make this work.  Try changing a poopy diaper while discussing colours for a website and logo 😉 
 
Thanks to Jenn for giving me this outlet to share my story and any knowledge I gain along the way.  Buckle up, it’s gonna be a bumpy ride..

Leave a Reply

