Friday Dinner Idea…

Friday has traditionally been “takeout night” in our house.  To celebrate getting through yet another Mon-Fri, we have rewarded ourselves with food… junk to be exact.  Pizza, takeout chicken, mc-really-really-bad-for-you…

Now I know that it’s good to splurge but recently I’ve been trying to cut out the sugars & preservatives as much as I can without it being a huge change my family will hate.  I’m trying to follow a clean-eating model for the most part, although not to those extremes.  I’m trying new recipes, coming up with alternatives to the convenience foods and menu planning my week (to an extent).

Today being Friday, we are not ordering pizza.  We are not hitting the drive-thru and we are certainly not buying any chips.  However, I still want to give my family a treat.   So, what did I make tonight?

Pizza Cups

Okay so this is a recipe that I’m bringing back into circulation.  I used to make them as a snack when I was in university and they always seemed so simple, cheap and taste so good that I never thought about offering them as a meal.  However, when I break down the recipe, I realize that these are actually much healthier than any of our takeout alternatives so I will share my recipe.

Ingredients

  • 1 lb extra-lean ground beef  (*I actually use half ground beef, half ground turkey)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/4 cup of bread crumbs (* feel free to use the Gluten Free variety, in that case use more like 1/2 cup)
  • 3/4 cup of pizza sauce (save a little to drizzle on top after they are done)
  • 1 cup of shredded cheese – (mozza is traditional, I personally like marble)
  • Seasoning such as Italian seasoning… or simply some oregano & garlic will do in a pinch.
In addition, you can add any other traditional pizza toppings such as mushrooms, peppers, etc.  Just don’t use too many as they will produce quite a bit of water when cooking.  Tonight, I added 1/4 of a green pepper, finely chopped (I do mine in the mini-food processor so they stick nicely to the mixture).

In a bowl, lightly beat the egg, then add bread crumbs, pizza sauce and seasoning.  Add ground beef and mix (your hands will work great for this part). If adding additional pizza toppings, I add them at this point and mix.  Add mixture to lightly greased muffin tin.  Press mixture onto the bottom and up the sides to create a cup.  Fill center with cheese.
Bake at 375 for 15-20 minutes, making sure the meat is fully cooked.
That’s it!  Simple and yummy!  I like to put a little extra sauce on top after they come out of the oven.
These particular ones, I used 6 large muffin cups rather than 12 smaller ones.  🙂

Leave a Reply

