Diary update

Well I figured it was time for a diary update. šŸ™‚ The last week or so, I wasn’t able to get as many crossfit sessions booked in due to scheduling conflicts (she books up very quickly and we just weren’t able to get more spots). So last week we had 3 sessions booked but she had to cancel one of them so I took one and Mike took the other. This week we only had 1 booked in so I gave it to Mike as he was jones’n to go! lol Our trainer is now on holidays for the next week or so, however, Mike and I have made some plans to get some of our own workouts in during the evening after the kids go to bed.

When she returns though, we are booked in quite regularly. With Sophie starting school in the fall, I will be able to do some daytime sessions which will help with getting more sessions in as her evenings usually fill up first. Mike and I are still loving crossfit!! This is by far the longest either of us has ever stayed with any type of fitness regime and so even though it’s more expensive than other options, it’s worth every penny to us.

In other news, we are getting ready for 2 fitness events coming up. First one is for the kids. They are both taking part in a local kids triathlon in about a week and a half. It’s such a fantastic event for them, to learn a sport where it’s less about beating the other participants and more about simply finishing in the best time you can. Nate’s goal is to beat his time from last year as he is doing the same distances again. For Sophie, we simply are using this year as an introduction to the sport. I think she’s going to have a great time. Although we will never consider ourselves an overly fit family, we do want to instill in our children a sense of fun in keeping active so these type of events are exactly what will do that. Plus, it’s about setting goals for yourself and following through, which is a fantastic skill for them to learn.

The second event is the following weekend – I have entered into a obstacle course type race. Again, same situation where it’s more about doing the best I can than beating the other competitors. It’s a 6k race, with 17 obstacles throughout… some of the obstacles are: scaling walls, running across beams, climbing cargo nets and crawling through mud & water. I’m doing this event as a team through my work and am excited and scared at the same time. My fear isn’t that I won’t finish. The details say that some people run it, others job and some walk – which means that even if I am exhausted, I can still walk between obstacles if needed. I think my fear is more that I will give up and start walking too early when I still have steam. I find it tough to keep motivated to push myself at times so I’m really trying to get into a mindset that I need to push as hard as I can. I don’t want to be disappointed in myself at the end. I want to feel proud not only for finishing but for finishing feeling like I did the best I could have done. Does that make sense?

Will definitely update after those events with some photos. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

