Purchases I will NOT compromise

These days it seems everyone is on a budget.  Buying used has gone from tacky to smart, DIY projects are increasing in popularity and couponing has become a full-time job.  The best words to our ears is: “discount”, “clearance” or “sale” and buying cheaper, more affordable options is no longer a sign of class.

Frugal is the new chic and moms everywhere are taking pride in the money they are saving in their households by switching brands and buying smarter.  Often times, this does mean sacrificing quality, but as we all know, for many brands, quality doesn’t really matter.

However, there are certain items that I personally will not compromise on.  I can’t do it.  I call them my luxury items!  Certain items there is a clear quality difference.  Here is my list of purchases that I just will not compromise on – even if it’s not on sale.

TOILET PAPER

Can’t do it.  I’ve tried cheaper brands and I’m sorry but my nether regions deserve the best and if that means shelling out more money, then I’m going to do it.  Saying that though, I will stock up on my favourite brand when it’s on sale.  It’s not uncommon for me to have 3-4 jumbo packages in my linen closet at one time, especially when it’s on sale for more than 50% off.  If I wanted to wipe with the cheap stuff, I might as well use what’s in our recycle bin.  

 

TOOTHPASTE

Once you find a toothpaste you love, it’s very hard to go back to the cheaper stuff.  I’m a huge fan of the Arm & Hammer toothpaste.  It’s a little more money but man, my mouth feels amazing after and nothing else is even close to comparing.  I think my obsession with “good” toothpaste began in grade 7 when a friend and I did our science project on toothpaste.  We re-created that test from the commercials… you know the one where they brushed the eggs and then put them in a solution for 8 hours?  The clear winner was Arm & Hammer and I’ve been hooked ever since.  Even at our lowest time financially (during university when I was finding ways to feed Mike and I on $4 a day), I still bought my toothpaste.  Selfish?  Maybe.  But as my mom reminded me the day I asked for a tongue ring, she paid a LOT of money for my smile so I’d better take good care of it.  😉

 

There really is “No other kind”.

KETCHUP

Our guilty pleasure in this household is Ketchup.  As much as we’ve changed our eating habits recently and have introduced a huge amount of healthier foods, cut down on the refined sugar and switched to organic meat & produce, we still buy Ketchup.  It’s a moms secret weapon when the kids won’t eat something.  It’s amazing in so many recipes and well, it just tastes so yummy.   I have made the effort to buy the cheaper ketchups. I was once told that they were all pretty much made in the same factory.  Not sure if that’s true but if they are, then the Heinz line is adding a little crack or something to theirs because it’s 100x better!  Some are too bland, others too tangy.  Heinz is so incredibly right when they say “There’s no other kind”.  

 

Our amazing king sized bed with pillow top mattress!

MATTRESS

We sleep for something like 1/3 of our lives.  That’s intense.  So why on earth are we sleeping on uncomfortable mattresses?  Ya, these things can get pricey but your back (and your sanity) will thank you.  Believe it or not, Mike and I slept on a used double bed for almost 5 years.  A bed we purchased at Value Village for $60.  The thing had to be 20 years old.  Springs were sticking in our back, when one of us rolled I swear the other side of the bed lifted about 2 feet.  It was uncomfortable and we were exhausted.  When our first child was born, we were getting much less sleep than normal and that’s when we really started to see how awful our bed was.  We knew it was time to buy a new mattress but we wanted to save money so we went with something basic.  Although it was better than what we had (I think a bag of hay would have been better), we still found that any time we stayed at a nice hotel with those plush beds, we would sleep 1000x better.  So we saved our money and last year invested in a little piece of heaven. (Saying that, you don’t have to spend a fortune – buying a discontinued model or a mix & match set can save you a lot!). Life was complete.  Not only did we buy a super-comfy mattress, we went bigger and bought a King.  Best. Decision. Ever.  Why I ever felt compromising on my sleep was an option, I have no idea, but we are much happier now.  It’s amazing what a good nights sleep will do. 

CLEANING SUPPLIES

Now most of you know that I sell green cleaning products, however this is not meant as a personal promo or anything like that.  I truly believe that this is one of the most important things you can’t compromise on.  I could go on forever about how green products are so much better, how something like 80,000 new chemicals have been introduced in the last 50 years and how we know this has directly affected the rates of illnesses such as cancer.  However, everyone is entitled to do what they want. Some save money using old recipes such as vinegar & baking soda.  I personally don’t find it works as well but if it works for you then awesome!  For the rest of us, green or not, cheap cleaning products just don’t cut it.  Invest in more concentrated formulas.  What you may think is a good deal on a cheaper cleaning product, you are most likely not saving much as they’ve added more water, meaning you need to use more to get the same clean.  Go with products that are much more concentrated and call for you to use less.  If you are looking at green products, do some research.  Because of the laws (or lack thereof) in our country, there are no real requirements for them to post the ingredients.  Many products claiming to be “green” are actually quite harmful.  If you want to be sure, go with products that are labelled as “biodegradable”.  Although the chemical laws are lax, to be certified as biodegradable, they need to actually be safe for the environment.  If you can toss it in the woods and no bunnies will be harmed, then it’s safe for your family.

and last but not least….

FEMININE HYGIENE PRODUCTS

Personally I like what I like and I’m not looking at prices.  ‘Nuff said.  

 

 

 

 

So do you have any products you refuse to compromise on?  Comment below!

xo J

 

 

 

  

 

Leave a Reply

