Is fat-free really better?

I was going for something quick for dinner tonight and decided on a simple pasta with veggies & sauce.  Normally I like to make my tomato sauce homemade but as I was out of my freezer sauce, I went to the pantry for a ready-made jar of sauce.

IMAG2855

 

I had two, so I grabbed them both.  I’m counting my calories right now so I wanted to check to see which would be best.  Looking at the label, I was shocked to see something quite strange.

One jar is the Healthy Choice brand – and the label states fat & oil free.  The other jar is just a simple in-house brand from Longos.  You would assume by looking at the front that the Healthy Choice would be the best option.  Wrong!

IMAG2856Looking at these labels, you can see that although the Healthy Choice wins by a small margin in the fat content area, it loses in almost every other category.  Higher calories, sodium, carbs and sugar!!

I don’t know about you but I’d rather eat the small amount of fat (0.5g) than the higher amounts in those other areas!

Just goes to show how incredibly important reading labels can be.  Although the other jar isn’t overly healthy either (compared to homemade), I chose the Longos brand as it really seems to be the “healthy choice” here.

xo J

One thought on “Is fat-free really better?

  1. In most food, it is the “fat” that makes it taste good. So “fat free” foods are often laden with sugar in order to compensate for the lacking fat. Instead of having fat, they instead have sugar. In your body, excess sugar becomes fat anyway. So really, fats & oils in moderation is better than trying to go “fat free”.

Leave a Reply

