Beet it!

I hate beets.  Have always hated them, still do.  My mom makes what others say are “the best beets” and I do give them a try whenever possible but I still can’t stand them.  For me, it’s the after-taste.  I taste dirt.  That’s the best way I can describe it.  I’ve had them pickled, roasted, fried… still can’t stand them.

However, I wanted to give them one last try.  I’ve been big on making smoothies lately so today I created one using beets and some other ingredients I had around the house. While I will admit that there was still a slight after-taste (which apparently only I could taste because hubby and the kids gobbled theirs up), I do admit that it was definitely the best way to eat them.

Here is the recipe for the shake.  Overall the flavour is fruity and the texture is very much the same as any other smoothie I’ve made.  The colour ends up being a very dark red of course due to the beets.  I threw some Kale in there as well and actually this shake ended up being a side-dish with our dinner.  The kids had no idea they were eating beets AND kale.  Mom wins!

IMAG2894-1Beet red kale fruit smoothie (because I really have no idea what else to call it)

Serves 1 adult, I split this between my two kids.  I went dairy free but you could easily add some milk or yogurt

  • 200 ml cold water
  • 1/4 banana
  • 4 cubes frozen mango
  • 1/4 cup frozen assorted berries
  • 1/2 a raw beet, pealed and cubed
  • 1/2 cup raw kale
  • 1 scoop Juice+ Complete Vanilla (you could sweeten with another source or use any kind of flavoured shake mix)

Blend it until smooth and serve!!

The kids loved it, hubby gave it a big thumbs up.  Will definitely be trying some more combinations to see if I can find a way to completely mask the beet “after taste”… that only I seemed to notice.  haha!

sig

 

Leave a Reply

